On July 27, 2026, the National Weather Service confirmed seven tornadoes across the Chicago area (two EF-1s and five EF-0s). But most of the property damage came from something else: destructive straight-line winds of 80 to 105 mph, hail up to three inches across, and flash flooding. If your home or building was damaged that day, wind and hail damage are almost always covered under a standard Illinois homeowner or commercial property policy. A denial or a low payout from your insurer is not the final word.
This article walks through what the storm actually did, which types of damage your policy covers, and, if you’ve already filed a claim, what your options are when an insurer denies it, blames “wear and tear,” or simply goes silent. It also covers the deadlines that can quietly kill an otherwise valid claim.
What actually happened across Chicago on July 27, 2026?
The July 27 outbreak was a documented, severe, multi-hazard storm that triggered a Cook County disaster proclamation. The tornadoes grabbed headlines. But the National Weather Service attributes the majority of the damage in and around the Chicago metro to straight-line winds, not funnels.
A few numbers that matter if you’re dealing with a claim:
- A 104 mph wind gust was measured at Bult Field near Monee. It was one of the strongest ever recorded in Illinois. Winds of 80 to 105 mph hit a wide band of the south suburbs, including Tinley Park, Oak Forest, Homewood, Chicago Heights, Matteson, and Frankfort.
- The strongest of the two EF-1 tornadoes, the Country Club Hills–Glenwood tornado, cut an unusually long 11.4-mile path through Hazel Crest, Markham, Harvey, and Homewood.
- Hail reached three inches in diameter near Shorewood, with two-inch hail measured across DuPage County in Downers Grove, Oak Brook, Hinsdale, and Westmont.
- More than 530,000 ComEd customers lost power, and parts of the south suburbs saw flash flooding.
Why does this matter for an insurance claim? Because it establishes, from official sources, that a genuine severe-weather event occurred at your address on a specific date. That documentation is the foundation of any wind or hail claim. It’s also the first thing that undercuts an insurer trying to blame your damage on something else.

Which part of the storm hit my property, and does that distinction matter for my claim?
Yes, it matters a great deal, because your policy treats wind, hail, and flood very differently. Wind and hail are covered perils under a standard homeowner or commercial property policy. Flood coverage typically works differently and often requires separate coverage.
Here’s the practical breakdown:
- Wind damage: lifted or torn shingles, missing roof sections, downed trees on the structure, broken windows, siding damage. Generally covered as a wind loss.
- Hail damage: bruised or fractured shingles, dented gutters and flashing, cracked skylights, damaged siding. Generally covered as a hail loss.
- Water that came in because of wind or hail: rain entering through a roof the storm just opened up. How this is treated depends on your specific policy language.
- Flooding: rising surface water, sewer or drain backup, or water entering at ground level. This is the category to watch. July 27 produced serious flash flooding in Cook County. Flood-related losses are often handled under separate flood or backup coverage rather than a standard policy. Check your specific policy.
Don’t self-diagnose your claim into a denial. Whether damage is “wind-driven rain” or “flood,” or whether a cracked shingle is “hail” or “age,” is exactly the kind of question insurers and policyholders fight over. The answer often decides whether you’re paid. If you’re not sure which category your damage falls into, that uncertainty is a reason to get an independent look. It’s not a reason to assume you’re not covered.

My insurance company denied my claim or offered far less than the damage: can they do that?
They can issue a denial or a low estimate, but that decision is a starting position, not a verdict. Under Illinois law, the burden of proof is not on you. Once you show your loss falls within your policy’s coverage, the insurer bears the burden of proving that an exclusion applies to keep from paying.
That’s a meaningful shift. You don’t have to prove the storm wasn’t wear and tear. If the insurer wants to deny based on an exclusion (old roof, pre-existing damage, maintenance), the company has to prove that exclusion fits your facts.
Illinois courts also read insurance policies against the company that wrote them. Policy language is given its plain, ordinary meaning. But where a term can reasonably be read more than one way, that ambiguity is resolved in favor of the insured. That’s a rule courts call contra proferentem, which is Latin for “against the drafter.” The insurer wrote the contract, so the insurer eats the ambiguity. (Hobbs v. Hartford Insurance Co., 214 Ill. 2d 11 (2005).)
The practical takeaway: a denial letter is the insurer’s argument, not a neutral finding. It can be wrong, and it can be challenged.

They blamed “wear and tear,” an “old roof,” or “pre-existing damage”: is that a legitimate reason to deny me?
Sometimes. But it’s also the single most common way storm claims get wrongly denied. That kind of denial often doesn’t survive scrutiny when a documented severe-weather event was the real trigger. The key legal concept here is causation: what actually caused the loss.
Illinois follows a default rule called efficient proximate cause. When a loss results from a mix of a covered cause (hail) and a non-covered one (aging), coverage exists if the covered peril was the predominant cause that set the damage in motion. So if a July 27 hailstorm is what cracked your shingles, the fact that your roof wasn’t brand new doesn’t automatically hand the insurer a defense.
Insurers sometimes point to “anti-concurrent causation” language in the policy: a clause designed to deny coverage when a covered and excluded cause combine. Illinois appellate courts have enforced these clauses (Bozek v. Erie Insurance Group, 2015 IL App (2d) 150155). But that clause requires a genuine concurrence of causes. Here, hail is the sole, real cause of the damage, and the insurer merely asserts wear and tear as a makeweight. In that situation, there’s no true concurrence for the clause to bite on.
What actually wins this fight is evidence. To rebut a wear-and-tear denial, you generally need an independent inspection and, where appropriate, expert opinion capable of distinguishing fresh storm damage from ordinary deterioration. The insurer sent its own adjuster to build its position; an independent inspection builds yours.

It’s been weeks, and my insurer has gone quiet or keeps stalling, so are they allowed to do this?
No. Illinois sets specific deadlines insurers must meet, and silence or endless delay can cross the line into a violation. The Illinois Administrative Code gives you a yardstick to measure whether your insurer’s behavior is normal or unreasonable.
Under 50 Ill. Admin. Code Part 919 and 215 ILCS 5/154.6, insurers must:
- Respond to your communications within 15 working days. “Reasonable promptness” means replying to relevant letters, calls, and emails within that window.
- Begin a genuine investigation within 21 working days of being notified of the loss, when liability is reasonably clear.
- Pay the undisputed portion within 30 days after completing their investigation and determining liability. Or, if they deny, provide a written explanation within 30 days that clearly states the specific policy definition, limitation, exclusion, or condition the denial is based on.
That last point matters. An insurer can’t deny you with a vague brush-off. Under 50 Ill. Admin. Code § 919.50(a)(1), the denial letter has to identify the exact policy language it’s relying on. A denial that doesn’t is itself a red flag.

How long do I have to act before it’s too late?
Less time than you’d think. This is the deadline that quietly destroys otherwise valid claims. The general Illinois deadline for suing on a written contract is 10 years (735 ILCS 5/13-206). But your policy almost certainly shortens it. Illinois enforces those shortened deadlines as long as they’re reasonable.
Most property policies bury a suit-limitation clause giving you just one to two years from the date of loss (here, July 27, 2026) to file suit. Miss it, and your claim can be barred no matter how strong it was.
There’s an important protection built in. Under 215 ILCS 5/143.1, that clock is tolled (paused) from the date you file your proof of loss until the date the insurer denies the claim in whole or in part. That’s meant to stop insurers from running out the clock by sitting on your claim during their “investigation.” But the tolling only helps if you’ve actually submitted a conforming proof of loss, so the paperwork matters.
Two practical warnings that flow directly from this:
- Don’t let the policy deadline lapse while you wait on the insurer. Delay on their end doesn’t automatically extend your window unless the tolling rule or specific conduct applies.
- Don’t sign a release or accept a “final” check as full satisfaction until you know the offer actually reflects your damage. Once you sign away your rights, getting them back is difficult.

What should I do right now?
Three steps, in order:
- Document everything and preserve it. Photograph all damage, keep every letter and email from your insurer, and hold onto damaged materials if you safely can. Note the July 27, 2026 date on all of it, since the storm is well-documented and your file should tie to it.
- Get an independent inspection if you’ve been denied, underpaid, or told it’s “wear and tear.” The adjuster who came to your home worked for the insurer. You need an assessment that works for you.
- Have your claim and policy reviewed before you accept a final offer, sign a release, or let a deadline pass. The difference between the first offer and what you’re actually owed is often the whole ballgame.
This is the work Mag Mile Law, LLC does. The firm represents policyholders (not insurance companies) in first-party property claims across Chicagoland, handling exactly the hail, wind, roof, storm, and water-damage disputes that July 27 generated. Partner Steven Mikuzis is both a coverage attorney and a licensed property-and-casualty insurance producer, which means he knows how carriers build denials from the inside (the same wear-and-tear and causation arguments discussed above) and how to take them apart. The firm’s practice is built around the leverage points in this article: the insurer’s burden to prove an exclusion applies, the causation rules that defeat a wrong “wear and tear” denial, and the deadlines that protect your right to challenge a lowball offer.
Mag Mile Law has offices at 535 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 200, Chicago; 340 W. Butterfield Road, Suite 4b, Elmhurst; and 1442 Techny Road, Northbrook. You can reach the firm at 773-644-9593 for a review of your July 27 storm claim.

This article is general legal information about Illinois property insurance law, not legal advice. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship with Mag Mile Law, LLC. Every claim turns on its own policy language and facts. Consult a licensed Illinois attorney about your specific situation.
